Rhode Island Basketball: Rams Release 2013-14 Hoops Schedule

Nov. 9, 2012; Kingston, RI, USA; Norfolk State Spartans guard Malcolm Hawkins (25) pressures Rhode Island Rams guard Xavier Munford (5) during the second half at the Ryan Center. Norfolk State defeated Rhode Island 67-55.Mandatory Credit: Stew Milne-USA TODAY Sports

If you were as antsy as we were about the release of the 2013-14 Rhode Island Rams schedule, today is a good day. GoRhody.com has released the full slate of games for the upcoming season, less a few to-be-announced opponents in the NIT Season Tip-Off. We had pieced together most of this from various tweets and opponents’ schedules, but it’s nice to see it officially. Here’s the non-conference portion:

DATE
OPPONENT
TIME
Friday, November 1
Southern Connecicut (exh.)
7:00 p.m.
Friday, November 8
Maine
7:30 p.m.
Monday, November 11
@ Southern Methodist (SMU)
TBA
Friday, November 15
North Carolina A&T
7:00 p.m.
Monday, November 18
@ TBA at McKale Center in Arizona (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Tuesday, November 19
@ TBA at McKale Center in Arizona (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Saturday, November 23
UMass Lowell
TBA
Monday, November 25
TBA at TBA site (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Tuesday, November 26
TBA at TBA site (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Wednesday, November 27
TBA at Madison Square Garden (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Friday, November 29
TBA at Madison Square Garden (NIT Season Tip-Off)
TBA
Saturday, November 30
@ George Mason
TBA
Thursday, December 5
Providence
8:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 8
@ Detroit
TBA
Sunday, December 22
New Hampshire
2:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 2
@ Brown
TBA
Saturday, January 4
@ Louisiana State (LSU)
1:00 p.m.

At first glance, this is a solid mix of tough tests and “should-win” games. Obviously, local fans would like to see some of those quality opponents make an appearance at the Ryan Center, but what else is new? URI has had troubles getting good teams to play in their building for years. Also, November looks like a beast, but note that depending on the results in Arizona the Rams will play either at MSG on November 27 and 29 or at campus sites on November 25 and 26. Not both. The Rams do appear to be getting a lengthy break in December (for exams, etc.), but per Rhody’s official site, “URI may add an additional game at a later date.”

Onto the conference schedule:

DATE
OPPONENT
TIME
Tuesday, January 7
St. Louis
7:00 p.m.
Saturday, January 11
@ George Washington
2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, January 15
@ La Salle
TBA
Saturday, January 18
George Mason
12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, January 22
@ St. Joseph’s
TBA
Saturday, January 25
Dayton
TBA
Saturday, February 1
@ Fordham
TBA
Thursday, February 6
@ Virginia Commonwealth (VCU)
7:00 p.m.
Sunday, February 9
Massachusetts
TBA
Wednesday, February 12
@ Dayton
7:00 p.m.
Saturday, February 15
Duquesne
2:00 p.m.
Wednesday, February 19
St. Joseph’s
TBA
Saturday, February 22
@ St. Bonaventure
TBA
Wednesday, February 26
@ Massachusetts
TBA
Saturday, March 1
Richmond
TBA
Wednesday, March 5
Fordham
TBA

Let the countdown begin.

Topics: Basketball, Rhode Island Rams

Want more from Rhody Rampage?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.
  • Phen Egap

    So Canisius, Jim Barons new home is also playing in the NIT tournament . What are the chances of a Rhody Canisius match up?

  • Dave A

    I saw that. Would be so awesome to take them on.