Rhode Island Basketball: Terrell, Hurley Earn USBWA Honors

Rhode Island basketball head coach Dan Hurley was named the USBWA District I Coach of the Year, and Jared Terrell was named Player of the Year for 2017-18.

Well, at least some voters know what they’re doing. The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced their regional award winners this afternoon, and Rhody was well represented. URI front man Dan Hurley was named the District I Coach of the Year and senior guard Jared Terrell earned Player of the Year honors. District I includes all teams that play in Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.

Here’s a look at the full list of winners.

District I

Player of the Year
Jared Terrell, Rhode Island

Coach of the Year
Dan Hurley, Rhode Island

All-District Team
Jalen Adams, UConn
Trae Bell-Haynes, Vermont
Ky Bowman, Boston College
Rodney Bullock, Providence
Tyler Nelson, Fairfield
Luwane Pipkins, UMass
Vasa Pusica, Northeastern
Jerome Robinson, Boston College
Jared Terrell, Rhode Island
Seth Towns, Harvard

The voters are all USBWA members, and the writers only vote within the district they cover. Rhode Island basketball was one of six schools to boast both the district player and coach of the year. It’s impressive company. The other five were Villanova, Ohio State, Kansas, Texas Tech, and Nevada. It’s also worth noting that aside from Terrell and Pipkins, only one other A-10 player made the cut. That would be Jaylen Adams, who was named to the All-District II team.

Congrats to both Coach Hurley and Jared Terrell on the awards — they’re certainly well deserved.